top of page




The nine Nations of Malahat First Nation, Lake Cowichan First Nation, Lyackson First Nation, Halalt First Nation, Penelakut First Nation, Stz'uminus First Nation, Snuneymuxw First Nation, Snaw-Naw-As First Nation, and Qualicum First Nation affirm that they have never given up their inherent right to care for and protect their children.



It is the purpose of Kw'umut Lelum Child and Family Service's Board of Directors to strive for excellence in the governance of the agency with deep respect for our Snuw’uy’ulh and the sacredness of our Nations. Their commitment to the values of accountability, transparency, fairness, timelines, and integrity.



Seek, obtain and manage funding in order to meet the needs of all children and families. Recognise the diversity of our member Nations and adhere to the culturally appropriate approaches pertinent to each of the respective communities. Strive to ensure that all our children of our communities are safe and protected.Strive to ensure that all our children are returned to the care of their Nation.



The mandate of our work comes for our member Nations. Our children's best interest will be the most important consideration in all our decisions. Family and community are essential to our children. We will strive to maintain the best practice in keeping with our respect for our member Nations in the care of our children. Striving for the safety and well-being of our children through the provision of services using least intrusive measures. Comply with all applicable legislation, but recognise these are the minimum standards of diligence.


Board of Directors

Robina Thomas, President

Lyackson First Nation

Chief Mike Wyse,

Snuneymuxw First Nation

Aaron Hamilton,


Lake Cowichan First Nation


Brent Edwards


Snaw-Naw-As First Nation


Jodi August

Halalt First Nation

Steve Henry

Malahat First Nation

Donna Kennedy
Qualicum First Nation


Chief Roxanne Harris

Stz'uminus First Nation


Chief Joan Brown

Penelakut First Nation


bottom of page